Early Spring 2016 – March

On our return from Mexico I was so happy to see my early bloomers in full flower.

We cut our stay 2 weeks just for that reason alone. In early stage of our beginnings here  I planted mainly for early spring show. The winters on the Island are not harsh and hardly go below  minus 2-3 degrees Celsius but the skies are gray most of the time and it rains a lot. It is very uplifting to see early blooms.

Camellia japonica ‘Herme’ . It blooms heavily each year and very early. It also have a little bit of smell. It is positioned right at our entrance so it has to be trimmed every year.

As I see it from the doorway

camellia

Closer detail

camellia1

Individual flower:camellia flower

Interesting phenomena of this tree is that some flowers turn very dark pink, some almost white but the majority are as this picture depict. 

I decided to plant more camellias and have chosen the “Elsie Jury” from grower in Australia and red Kramer’s Supreme raised by August Kramer of Kramer Bros. Nurseries, Upland, California, USA.

Both of these are still very small plants. I only planted them couple of years ago.

I think that is all for now for my camellias .

====================================================================

The most visible tree on our property in early spring is the very tall Ornamental  Flowering Plum tree . It has single pink flowers, has dark red foliage in summer and produces fruits but only sporadically. I did not see it blooming last spring. When we arrived from Mexico in early April it was in leaf. This specific tree is about 50 years old and I understand that they do not live very long. Maybe for me to find a spot for a new  one. But not this year

plum tree

Beginning of early spring clean-up

clean up

and what a mess all over the place.

mess1a

Forsythia looks very pretty against the dark green leaves of Portuguese laurel.

forsythia1

We have several good size shrubs and it is a welcomed sight every spring.

forsythia2

Winter Daphne (Daphne odora)

I planted one because it has a nice scent , because it is a evergreen, because it blooms early and most importantly because deer leaves it alone. Pleasure to see and smell in early spring.

daphne

Spirea “bridal wreath”. It is too large for that spot and I will have to find another spot for it. I had no idea how big it gets. I usually see them in a clumps not bigger than 2-3 feet

Spirea bridal wreath

Ribes sanguineum ‘white icicle’ lacing the edge of the forest

ribes

Pink leaves of Pireis Japonica just shine in the sun. .The new colourful growth will mature to green. The flower buds develop in late autumn. Wonderful shrub for our climate.  I have 3 mature plants and  planted another one under an old rhododendron. The plant is poisonous if consumed by people or animals.

fading leaves

Magnolia Susan

This large shrub or small tree is part of The Girls Series of magnolias (sometimes called the Little Girl Series),
‘Susan’ is a hybrid between Magnolia stellata ‘Rosea’ and M. liliflora ‘Nigra’.

magnolia Susan

Hellebores buried in the fall crocus leaves. Planted by previous owners and for longest time I did not know that they even existed. Popular plant but I am not a big fan. Maybe because they are so shy and keep their heads down and I cannot see their beauty. 

helebores

Lovely cream coloured Primula Balarina

primulas1

There are many wild growing common primroses (Primula vulgaris) of various colours scattered around the property. This is one in my Rhubarb patch in March

primulas.

Rhubarb is doing well and almost in bloom.

rhubarb

Primula Belarina Pink Ice, one of my favorite.

pink bellarina

Native woodland plant  “Coast Toothwort” (Cardamine) growing happily in out woods

aconites

Trillium growing wild and I see some here and there but it is a favorite food for deer.

trillium3

Have not seen my friend lately – young black tail male deer . Although I do see some munched plants around.  My motion activated sprinkles are set ….so watch out my friend!

deer

1 comment
  1. Beautiful deer, yet I do understand not wanting him to nibble on your plants! I liked the flowering plum tree. A gorgeous sight to see! 🙂

Leave a Reply

